Guest Post: Juicy NYFW Drama!

Hello everyone!

My name is Justina and I will be your guest blogger for the day while Fauxionista is off on a family vacation in NYC.

Speaking of the Big Apple, I initially wanted to do a blog post on favorite street style looks from NYFW, but something else caught my eye while perusing my favorite sources of fashion fodder.

Have you read/heard about the drama that went down at the Zac Posen show?

Image

To sum things up for you, 60 seats were cut by the fire marshal just before the show, and while the PR team was trying to reseat everyone (i.e. the VIPs) as soon as possible, somebody got impatient. Tempers flared, voices raised, and before you know it, someone got slapped.

Read the full articles HERE and HERE:

My thoughts on this matter?

Fashion Week is the busiest and most stressful week in any fashion industry insider’s calendar, especially for the PR guys and girls.

To get some behind the scenes insight on how bad things can get, check out reality program Kell on Earth. It documents (with some dramatization of course, else it wouldn’t be reality TV now would it?) PR maven Kelly Cutrone and her team as they face the everyday stress and challenges in the cut-throat world of fashion PR – running out of bubbly at a launch, models fainting at a showcase, shooting guerrilla style on the streets of NYC….you get the idea. While I’m personally not a fan of Kelly’s abrasive demeanor, I can respect that she is a strong and capable woman who gets the job done, and all that badmouthing is not to be taken personally.

However, I have to say that my favorite quote from that show is, “You say I’m a b*tch like it’s a bad thing”. In other words, sometimes you just have to be the bad guy to get things done.

ImageImage

Anyway, I digress. The point is, when things get stressful, it is easy for people to speak more rashly or at a louder volume than they usually would. While I don’t have the full details on what went on at the Zac Posen show, and media articles should always be taken with a pinch of salt, my understanding is that Ms. Tesoro was doing her job to ensure that things ran smoothly despite the major hiccup that involved fire marshals cutting 60 seats from the show.

If you’ve watch Kell on Earth, you’ll understand how important seating arrangements are (basically it’s like an indicator of your standing in the fashion hierarchy) , and how much care is placed in to perfecting the seating chart before a fashion show. Ms. Tesoro has my heartfelt sympathy, having to reseat 60 VIPs in such a short amount of time without ruffling any egotistical feathers. That being said, I also have complete admiration for people who work on achieving solutions when problems arise, and am strongly against creating more trouble amidst chaos, which is precisely what Ms. Eymere was alleged to have done in this situation.

From what I understand, Ms. Tesoro was working towards reseating everyone and not asking people to leave. The issue here was that Ms. Eymere got impatient, Ms. Tesoro probably snapped under the stress, arguments ensued, and ended with Ms. Tesoro getting slapped in the face.

What bugs me is that Ms. Eymere seemed so proud of the fact that she slapped Ms. Tesoro with the intention of humiliating her.  I quote, “It was a small slap. It was not strong. I didn’t hurt her, it was just to humiliate her. She humiliated my mom, and I humiliated her in front of her crew. Voilà. I just said at the end, ‘Now you know you don’t f–k with French people.’”

As a professional adult with some social standing, wouldn’t the appropriate response be to (verbally) communicate her displeasure and try to resolve it? I’ve got a pretty strong feeling that Ms. Tesoro’s grumpiness was not one-sided. There’s a Chinese saying that goes, “It takes two hands to make a clap” (Or “it takes two to tango” in English, but the clapping analogy  seems more apt in this instance).

Frankly, all this unpleasantness could have been avoided if Ms. Eymere had just waited to be seated like everyone else instead of getting impatient, or she could have taken it up with the  fire marshals who were the root cause of the matter. I’m sure everyone would have enjoyed that 😉

Before I end this post, I’d like to add a disclaimer that:
1) I do not know the full details of what went on, so this post is written based on limited facts, assumptions and my personal opinions
2) I’m using Kell on Earth as reference because it’s easily accessible to everyone (and it was a really entertaining program) and audiences are able to understand that the world of fashion is not as glamorous as it appears to be.

Lastly, it seems that Ms. Eymere has been slapped back….by a lawsuit filing for $1million in damages to Ms. Tesoro (Read about it HERE).

So kids, what have we learnt from the story above? Violence does not solve anything (surprise, surprise). In fact, even if you were the wronged party, striking out first makes you the bad guy (with exceptions to self defence against bodily harm). Oh, and don’t let the fire marshals into your tent during fashion week 😛

What are your thoughts on the drama? Please share them in the comments section!

Finally, I’ll leave you with some images of my favorite looks from the Zac Posen show. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

